Kansas City DUI Lawyer | Underage DUI

If you are charged with a DUI in Missouri or Kansas, the Kansas City DUI lawyers at the Kane Law Office and KCticketlaw are centrally located in downtown Kansas City, Missouri, and have the experience and expertise to aggressively defend your criminal and administrative Kansas driving under the influence (DUI) charges, Missouri driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges, or related charges resulting from a refusal to submit to blood, breath, or urine testing.

 

Underage DUI

 

In Missouri and Kansas, the legal age to consume alcohol is 21.  Underage drinkers subjected to a chemical test will be considered intoxicated if the blood alcohol content measures .02% or higher.   For drivers 21 and older, the limit is .08%.

For a BAC between .02 and .08, drivers under 21 can expect to have their license suspended if they don’t request, fight and win their administrative license hearing.  Keep in mind that administrative charges are different from criminal charges like DUI, minor in possession of alcohol, distribution of alcohol to minors, and possession of false identification.

Missouri Underage DUI

Punishments for an underage DUI in Missouri are as follows:

For a first DUI Conviction, offenders face charges of up to 6 months of imprisonment, up to $500 in fines, and license suspension of 30-90 days.

For a second DUI Conviction within 5 years, an offender faces imprisonment up to one year, a fine up to $1,000, and license suspension up to one year.

 

Kansas Underage DUI

If the driver is under 21 and a first-time offender, a BAC between .02% and .08% penalty is a license suspension of 30 days.   An additional offense will see driving privileges suspended for one year.   The offender will also be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle.

If the driver under the age of 21 has a BAC of .08% to .15%, they are subject to the regular DUI laws and penalties in Kansas.

If the driver under the age of 21 fails a test with a BAC of .15% or higher, the offender will receive one year suspension.  After the suspension, the driver will be subjected to driving a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device.  

FREE Estimate Form

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Telephone

EmailPhone

Your Ticket Number

Court Name/Location

Court Date

Date of Violation

Fine/Fees Listed on Ticket

Driver's License State (please note if CDL or other special license)

Reason Ticketed (please be specific; i.e. 55 in a 45 mph zone, school zone, construction zone, accident, stop sign violation, driving while suspended, etc.)

Additional Charges (i.e. no seatbelt, no insurance, vehicle registration, suspended, warrant, etc.)

For a more accurate quote, please attach a copy of your ticket, insurance, or other information here.