If you are charged with DUI in Kansas, the Kansas City DUI lawyers at the Kane Law Office and KCticketlaw are centrally located in downtown Kansas City, Missouri, and have the experience and expertise to defend your criminal and administrative driving under the influence (DUI) charges, driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges, or related charges resulting from a refusal to submit to blood, breath, or urine testing.
DUI charges in Kansas can have a variety of consequences and outcomes. It is important to know how a DUI is charged, and how it can affect your driving privileges in Kansas.
DUI in Kansas
In accordance with Kansas law, it is against the law to drive or attempt to operate a motor vehicle while having a blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or more.
- Fines: $750 to $1,000
- Imprisonment: Minimum 48 hours.
- Community service: 100 hours.
- License revocation.
- Mandatory alcohol and drug treatment programs (at your own expense).
- Court costs.
For first time DUI charges in Kansas, punishment can include 48 hours of mandatory imprisonment or 100 hours of community service. At your own expense, you will also have to take part in a court ordered alcohol and drug safety action education/treatment program.
Fines can range from $500 to $1,000. On top of that, you will also be responsible for court costs, probation and evaluation fees.
Kansas law also mandates that driving privileges will be suspended for 30 days, and then restricted for an additional 330 days. Your vehicle can be impounded for up to 1 year.
Multiple Offense DUI in Kansas
If you have received more than one DUI charge in Kansas, fees and penalties are increased according to KS law, depending on how many charges you have received in the past.
In addition to increased penalties, state law will most likely incorporate an interlock ignition device once your driving privileges are reinstated.
If you have received a DUI in Kansas, contact KCticketlaw to get more information and fight your charges.