Kansas City DUI Lawyer | Multiple DUI Charges

Kansas City DUI Lawyer | Multiple DUI Charges

Multiple DUI charges in Missouri or Kansas can bring a lot of penalties.  The Kansas City DUI lawyers at the Kane Law Office and KCticketlaw are located in downtown Kansas City, Missouri, and have the experience and expertise to aggressively defend your criminal and administrative Kansas driving under the influence (DUI) charges, Missouri driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges, or related charges resulting from a refusal to submit to blood, breath, or urine testing.

 

In the case of multiple DUI charges in KC, there are varying degrees of penalties in Missouri:

1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense
Jail Up to six months Up to one year Up to four years
Fines and Penalties Up to $500 Up to $1,000 Up to $5,000
License Suspension 30 days 1 year 10 years
Ignition Device Required Possible Possible after 1 year Yes

 

Missouri state law is very clear about penalties for multiple DUI charges.

If you are convicted of a second alcohol- or drug-related traffic offense, regardless of the length of time between convictions, you will normally receive a 1-year revocation for accumulation of points. If you are convicted a second time for an alcohol- or drug-related offense within a five-year period, you may also receive a 5-year license denial.

After receiving multiple DUI charges (three or more convictions) of an alcohol- or drug-related traffic offense, you will receive a 10-year license denial.

 

Multiple DUI charges in Kansas

 

SECOND KANSAS DUI OFFENSE:

A second Kansas DUI will bring you 90 days to one year imprisonment a fine of $1,000 to $1,500 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees. You must complete the court ordered treatment program for alcohol and drug abuse (at your expense). Your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. After a one-year suspension of driving privileges is completed, you are restricted to driving only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for one year. This mechanism makes it impossible for anyone who is intoxicated to start the motor vehicle. Proof of such device’s installation and use shall be provided to the Division of Motor Vehicles before driving privileges are fully reinstated. Your vehicle can be impounded for up to one year.

 

THIRD KANSAS DUI OFFENSE:

You will be charged with a felony offense, receive 90 days to one year imprisonment and be fined $1,500 to $2,500 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees. You must complete the court ordered treatment program for alcohol and drug abuse (at your expense). Your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. After a one-year suspension of driving privileges is completed, you are restricted to driving only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for one year. Proof of such device’s installation and use shall be provided to the Division of Motor Vehicles before driving privileges are fully reinstated. Your vehicle can be impounded for up to one year.

 

FOURTH KANSAS DUI OFFENSE:

You will be charged with a felony offense, receive 90 days to one year imprisonment and be fined $2,500 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees. You must complete the court ordered treatment program for alcohol and drug abuse (at your expense). Your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. Any court may revoke a person’s license plate or temporary registration for a period of one year. After a one-year suspension of driving privileges is completed, you are restricted to driving only a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for one year. Proof of such device’s installation and use shall be provided to the Division of Motor Vehicles before driving privileges are fully reinstated. At the end of the incarceration/work release program, you will be placed in the custody of the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Corrections for a one-year period of postrelease supervision which shall be required to include completion of a drug/alcohol treatment program (at your expense). Your vehicle can be impounded for up to one year.

 

FIFTH AND SUBSEQUENT KANSAS DUI OFFENSE:

You will be charged with a felony offense, receive 90 days to one year imprisonment and be fined $2,500 plus court costs, probation and evaluation fees. Your driving privileges will be permanently revoked. At the end of the incarceration/work release program, you will be placed in the custody of the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Corrections for a one-year period of postrelease supervision which shall be required to include completion of a drug/alcohol treatment program (at your expense).

 

For more information on multiple Kansas DUI, visit the KS DMV website.

FREE Estimate Form

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Telephone

EmailPhone

Your Ticket Number

Court Name/Location

Court Date

Date of Violation

Fine/Fees Listed on Ticket

Driver's License State (please note if CDL or other special license)

Reason Ticketed (please be specific; i.e. 55 in a 45 mph zone, school zone, construction zone, accident, stop sign violation, driving while suspended, etc.)

Additional Charges (i.e. no seatbelt, no insurance, vehicle registration, suspended, warrant, etc.)

For a more accurate quote, please attach a copy of your ticket, insurance, or other information here.