If you are charged with a first offense DUI in Missouri or Kansas, the Kansas City DUI lawyers at the Kane Law Office and KCticketlaw are centrally located in downtown Kansas City, Missouri, and have the experience and expertise to aggressively defend your criminal and administrative Kansas driving under the influence (DUI) charges, Missouri driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges, or related charges resulting from a refusal to submit to blood, breath, or urine testing.
First Offense DUI charges in Missouri or Kansas can have a variety of consequences and outcomes. It is important to know how a first-time DUI can affect your driving privileges in Missouri or Kansas.
Missouri First Offense DUI
In Missouri, a first offense DUI conviction can result in the following:
- First conviction for excessive blood alcohol content (BAC)
- First conviction for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence of drugs (DUID)
A first-time DWI, DUID, or BAC conviction results in a 90-day suspension. You may be eligible for a Restricted Driving Privilege (RDP).
NOTE: If you are convicted of operating a commercial motor vehicle while your alcohol content is .04 percent or higher, 2 points will be assessed to your Missouri driver record and you will be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for one year.
Kansas First Offense DUI
DUI is considered a criminal offense. A 1st offense DUI conviction carries such penalties as:
- Fines: $750 to $1,000
- Imprisonment: Minimum 48 hours.
- Community service: 100 hours.
- License revocation.
- Mandatory alcohol and drug treatment programs (at your own expense).
- Court costs.
If you are convicted of a DUI, you will also face increased insurance rates in Kansas.
CDL Driver DUI
If you are arrested for DUI while driving a commercial vehicle, not only will you face the same penalties as a person in a passenger car, but you will automatically lose your CDL (and the main part of your livelihood) for 1 year.